Moodle Tip-Reset your course for the new term

The new term is nearly upon us and lots of tutors are running about doing last minute Moodle changes to their course areas. One question that keeps coming up is “How do I reset my course and clear last years students?

The answer is simple, use the course reset feature in the course admin block.

This little gem is often missed and tutors are rarely informed of its use during Moodle training.

Upon clicking the button the tutor can perform the following course options:

  • Delete course logs
  • Delete course events from the calendar
  • Delete user notes
  • Unenrol users (the important one!)
  • Clear the gradebook
  • Delete Groups/Groupings
  • Delete assignment submissions
  • Empty course forums
  • Clear roles

I would recommend performing a course backup first before you clear assignment submissions and grades!

Comments are closed.